All About Africa  

Femi Kuti Biography, Albums and Songs

Femi Kuti Biography

Olufela Olufemi Anikulapo Kuti, popularly known as Femi Kuti, is a Nigerian musician born in London on 16 June 1962 and raised in Lagos. He is the eldest son of afrobeat pioneer Fela Kuti and a grandchild of a political campaigner, women’s rights activist and traditional aristocrat Funmilayo Ransome Kuti.

Femi Kuti’s musical career started when he began playing in his father’s band, Egypt 80. In 1986, Femi started his own band, Positive Force, and began establishing himself as an artist independent of his father’s massive legacy.

His first record was released in 1995 by Tabu/Motown, followed four years later by Shoki Shoki (MCA), which garnered widespread critical acclaim.

His international career began in 1988 when he was invited by the French Cultural Centre in Lagos and Christian Mousset to perform at the Festival d’Angoulême (France), the New Morning Club in Paris and the Moers Festival in Germany.

In 2001, Femi Kuti collaborated with Common, Mos Def and Jaguar Wright on Fight to Win, an effort to cross over to a mainstream audience, and started touring the United States with Jane’s Addiction.

In 2004 he opened The Shrine, his club, where he recorded the live album Africa Shrine. After a 4-year absence due to personal setbacks, he re-emerged in 2008 with Day by Day and Africa for Africa in 2010, for which he received two Grammy nominations.

Femi Kuti

Femi Kuti

In 2002, Femi Kuti’s mother, who had played an influential role in Femi’s life, died at the age of 60. Femi’s son currently appears as part of his act, playing alto saxophone.

Also in 2002, Femi contributed a remake of his father’s classic song, “Water No Get Enemy”, to Red Hot & Riot, a compilation CD in tribute to Fela Kuti that was released by the Red Hot Organization and MCA. His track was created in collaboration with hip hop and R&B artists, D’Angelo, Macy Gray, The Soultronics, Nile Rodgers, and Roy Hargrove, and all proceeds from the CD were donated to charities dedicated to raising AIDS awareness or fighting the disease.

In 2012 he was both inducted into the Headies Hall of Fame (the most prestigious music awards in Nigeria), was the opening act on the Red Hot Chili Peppers’ European arena tour and became an Ambassador for Amnesty International. He continues to expand the diversity of his artistry on his new album (2013) No Place for My Dream. Femi Kuti was a judge on Nigeria’s huge TV show Nigerian Idol Season 3.

Femi Kuti Albums

  • Femi Kuti
  • Shoki Shoki
  • Fight to Win
  • Day by Day
  • Africa for Africa
  • No Place for My Dream

Femi Kuti Songs

  • Sorry Sorry
  • Truth Don Die
  • The World Is Changing
  • Traitors of Africa
  • What Will Tomorrow Bring
  • Politics Na Big Business
  • Eko Lagos
  • Yeparipa
  • Stop AIDS
  • ’97
  • Beng Beng Beng
  • Carry on Pushing On
  • Day by Day
  • Do Your Best
  • I Wanna Be Free
  • Make You Crazy feat. Brett Dennen
  • Brett Dennen
  • Missing feat. Common
  • Missing Link feat. Common
  • Na So We See Am
  • No Place for My Dream
  • One Man Show
  • Scatta Head
  • Shotan
  • Survival
  • Tension Grip Africa
  • Time Travelin’
  • Water No Get Enemy
  • Wonder Wonder
  • You Better Ask Yourself

Femi Kuti – Video