All About Africa  

Sound Sultan Biography, Religion, Wife, Children, Albums and Songs

Sound Sultan Biography

Sound Sultan born Olanrewaju Fasasi is a Nigerian rapper, singer-songwriter, actor, comedian and recording artist. He was born on November 27, 1976. Sound Sultan is the fourth child amongst six children to Fasasi Liadi Alarape (Father) and Fasasi Adeyinka Ajarat (Mother).

He attended Stepping Stone Nursery and Primary (1981–1987) school before moving to Federal Government College Ogbomosho (1988–1993) to attain his secondary school education before acquiring a degree in Geography and Regional Planning from Lagos State University in 1999.

By 1991, he started taking a keen interest in music, miming at school parties and writing his own lyrics. He attributes his early influence to his elder brother Baba Dee, who studied Theatre Arts. Most of his early stage experience was gotten through Baba Dee’s influence. He started learning how to play the guitar after his secondary school education and by 1999 he had a band.

He is regarded as one of the pacesetters of modern hip hop music in Nigeria.

Sound Sultan’s career in show business started professionally in the 90s. He started hosting shows in order to raise money for studio sessions.

Sound Sultan

Sound Sultan

By 1999 he had won numerous local talent hunt shows, then he released his first single “Jagbajantis” in 2000, which went on to be an instant hit and a classic song in Nigeria. After independently releasing other singles and featuring in hit songs of other artists, he was signed by Kennis Music.

Under Kennis Music, he released four albums. By 2007, his contract with the label expired and he teamed up with his brother Baba Dee to start Naija Ninjas which is a franchise that parents a record label, production outfit and clothing line. He is reputed for having several styles and genres of music. After starting off as a rapper, he has switched from R&B, Afrobeat, Soul and Fuji. He believes that genre isn’t a criterion for judging an artist, rather the form of message that is conveyed in the music is what matters.

Under Naija Ninjas, he released Back From The Future (2010) and signed a couple of artists such as Karma Da Rapper, Young GreyC, Shawn and Blacka.

Sound Sultan has built a strong relationship with renowned international artist Wyclef Jean. Their working relationship started when he was featured alongside 2face Idibia and Faze on a song from Wyclef’s Welcome to Haiti: Creole 101 album titled “Proud to be African”. They have both gone ahead to collaborate on two other projects: “King of My Country” (2009) and “People Bad” (2012).

In 2012, it was announced that Sound Sultan was made a UN Ambassador for Peace for his exemplary lifestyle and career

In 2015, Sound Sultan released another hit rap single, “Remember” after a long absence from the music scene.

Sound Sultan Religion

Sound Sultan is a devout Muslim.

Sound Sultan Wife

In 2009, he married long-term girlfriend Chichi Morah, who was a Christian and who is from the Igbo ethnic group. She has since converted to Islam after getting married and adopted the Islamic name “Farida”.

Sound Sultan Children

The couple have two children.

Sound Sultan Albums

  • Kpseeeeeeew – 2001
  • Textbook – 2004
  • Naija 007 – 2007
  • SS4 – 2008
  • Me, My Mouth & Eye – 2013
  • The ‘Compulsory’ Text-Book – 2006
  • Back From The Future – 2011
  • Bushmeat – 2011
  • 51 Lex Presents Let It Rain – 2011
  • Follow Me Go – 2015
  • 51 Lex Presents Flying with the Birds – 2011
  • Out of the Box – 2016

Sound Sultan Songs

  • African Lady
  • Natural Something
  • Kokose
  • Hello Baale
  • Orobo
  • Obalola
  • Everything Is Everything
  • Luv Language
  • Gud Gal
  • Oko Won Lode
  • Monsura
  • Area
  • Sound Buoy Killin
  • Kurukomaga Remix
  • Born on a saturday
  • Bushmeat ft 2face nd w4
  • Rewind Time
  • Eshe
  • Motherland
  • Good girl
  • Temporary Turn Permanent ft. Baba Dee

Sound Sultan Music Video