All About Africa  

Beverley Naidoo Biography, Books, Awards

Beverley Naidoo Biography

Beverley Naidoo was born on 21st May 1943 in Johannesburg, South Africa. She is a South African author of children’s books.

Beverley Naidoo Education Background and Early Life

In 1963 she graduated from the University of Witwatersrand. In 1965 She left South Africa for England after her eight weeks solitary confirnment due to her involvement with the anti apartheid movement. She enrolled at the University of York where she did a course in teaching.In 1991 she obtained a
Ph.D. from the University of Southampton.

Beverley Naidoo Career

Beverley Naidoo taught both primary and secondary children in London for 18 years.She worked as Adviser for Cultural Diversity and English in Dorset. She has tutored Creative Writing at Goldsmiths College, University of London, and run workshops for young people and adults in Britain and abroad, including for the British Council.

Beverley Naidoo first novel for children, Journey to Jo’burg, was published in 1985. A powerful portrayal of racism seen from a child’s perspective, the book was banned in South Africa until 1991. A sequel, Chain of Fire, was published in 1989. No Turning Back (1995) was written after running workshops for young people in South Africa with theatre director Olusola Oyeleye. The Other Side of Truth (2000) was inspired in part by the execution of Nigerian writer Ken Saro-Wiwa and tells the story of two Nigerian children who flee to London as refugees after their mother is killed.

Beverley Naidoo Books

  • 2000: The Other Side of Truth
  • 1985: Journey to Jo’burg
  • 1989: Chain of Fire
  • 2001: Out of Bounds
  • 2007: Burn My Heart
  • 2004: Web of Lies
  • 1995: No Turning Back: A Novel of South Africa
  • 2003: Baba’s Gift
  • 2011: S is for South Africa
  • 2012: Death of an Idealist: In Search of Neil Aggett
  • 1992: Through Whose Eyes?: Exploring Racism : Reader, Text and Context
  • 2015: Who is King?: And Other Tales from Africa
  • 1998: Where Is Zami? (Ready…go
  • 1985: Journey to Jo’burg: A South African Story
  • 1994: Trouble for Letang and Julie
  • 2004: King Lion in Love
  • 1994: Letang and Julie Save the Day
  • 1994: Letang’s New Friend
  • 2008: Call of the Deep
  • 2011: Journey to Jo’Burg (Essential Modern Classics)
  • 2016: A Wisp of Wisdom: Animal Tales from Cameroon
  • 1997: Global Tales: Stories from Many Cultures
  • 2006: The Great Tug of War and Other Stories
  • 2002: New Windmills 2002
  • 1988: Aesop’s Fables: Posters and Reproducible Pages
  • 2003: New Windmills 2003 New Novels Pack
  • 1984: Censoring Reality: An Examination of Books on South Africa
  • 2015: Who is King?: Ten Magical Stories from Africa
  • 2003: The Great Tug-of-war and Other Stories
  • 2004: New Windmills: 2003 New Novels Complete Pack
  • 2003: Journey to Jo’Burg: Grades 3-4
  • 2009: Out of Bounds: stories of conflict and hope
  • 2001: Out of Bounds Seven Stories of Conflict and Hope
  • 2000: Longman Book Project: Fiction: Bands 5-8: Full Completer Pack
  • 1999: Longman Book Project: Fiction: Band 6: Pack
  • 2004: New Windmills 2003 New Titles Pack Version 2
  • 2000: Longman Book Project: Fiction: Bands 5-8: Preview Pack

Beverley Naidoo Award

  • 2001: Los Angeles Times Book Prize (Young Adult Fiction)
  • 2000: Carnegie Medal
  • 2000: Nestlé Smarties Book Prize (Silver Award)
  • 1999: Arts Council Writers’ Award

Beverley Naidoo Photo

Beverley Naidoo

Beverley Naidoo

Beverley Naidoo Video