All About Africa  

Constitution of South Africa – The Constitution of the Republic of South Africa 1996

The Constitution of the Republic of South Africa 1996

Constitution of South Africa: The Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996 (Act 108 of 1996) came into effect on 4 February 1997. This is the highest law in South Africa and no other law or government action can overrule the Constitution or be in conflict with it.

South Africa’s Constitution is one of the most progressive in the world and is based on the values of dignity, equality and freedom.

South African Constitution Summary – Constitution of South Africa

South Africa’s Constitution, as amended. This is the fundamental law of South Africa, setting out the Bill of Rights as well as the relationship of various government structures to each other.

Constitution of South Africa

Constitution of South Africa

The constitution of south africa is comprised of the following 14 Chapters:

  1. Chapter 1: Founding Provisions
  2. Chapter 2: Bill of Rights
  3. Chapter 3: Co-operative Government
  4. Chapter 4: Parliament
  5. Chapter 5: The President and National Executive
  6. Chapter 6: Provinces
  7. Chapter 7: Local Government
  8. Chapter 8: Courts and Administration of Justice
  9. Chapter 9: State Institutions Supporting Constitutional Democracy
  10. Chapter 10: Public Administration
  11. Chapter 11: Security Services
  12. Chapter 12: Traditional Leaders
  13. Chapter 13: Finance
  14. Chapter 14: General Provisions
  • Schedule 1: National Flag
  • Schedule 1A: Geographical areas of provinces
  • Schedule 2: Oaths & Solemn Affirmations
  • Schedule 3: Election Procedures
  • Schedule 4: Functional Areas of Concurrent National and Provincial Legislative Competence
  • Schedule 5: Functional Areas of Exclusive Provincial Legislative Competence
  • Schedule 6: Transitional Arrangements
  • Schedule 7: Laws Repealed

Constitution of the Republic of South Africa

south african constitution pdf: Constitution of the Republic of South Africa

Section 16 of the Constitution of South Africa – Article 16 of South Africa’s Bill of Right

16. Freedom of expression

Everyone has the right to freedom of expression, which includes ­

a. freedom of the press and other media;
b. freedom to receive or impart information or ideas;
c. freedom of artistic creativity; and
d. academic freedom and freedom of scientific research.

The right in subsection (1) does not extend to ­

a. propaganda for war;
b. incitement of imminent violence; or
c. advocacy of hatred that is based on race, ethnicity, gender or religion, and that constitutes incitement to cause harm.

Constitution of South Africa – Video